Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Organisation Structure

The Institute has its headquarters at Mumbai and six regional units in different parts of the country located at Nagpur, Coimbatore, Sirsa, Surat, Guntur and Dharwad. The Institute is headed by the Director who is assisted by four heads of research divisions, administration and finance & accounts sections. Various committees like the Institute Management Committee (IMC), Prioritysetting and Monitoring Committee (PMC), Research Advisory Committee (RAC), Institute Research Council (IRC), Institute Joint Staff Council (IJSC), Grievance Committee, etc. are formed for helping the Director in concerned areas. There are a number of service sections like Library, Agricultural Knowledge Management Unit (AKMU) and Test House to facilitate the information services, maintaining research data bank, testing and other activities of the Institute. Research, Consultancy, Training, Testing and Technology Transfer activities are facilitated and monitored through four research divisions: Quality Evaluation and Improvement Division (QEID), Mechanical Processing Division (MPD), Chemical & Biochemical Processing Division (CBPD) and Technology Transfer Division (TTD). Research programmes are grouped under five broad core areas as

  • Pre-ginning and ginning
  • Mechanical processing: technical textiles and composites
  • Characterization - cotton and other natural fibres, yarns and textiles
  • Chemical and biochemical processing and biomass and by-product utilization
  • Entrepreneurship and human resource development


MPD : Mechanical Processing Division
QEID : Quality Evaluation And Improvement Division
CBPD : Chemical & Biochemical Processing Division
ETTD : Engineering Technology Transfer Division

Back to Top